Sunday, December 16, 2012

Review: Christmas Without Holly by Nicola Yeager @NicolaYeager

Christmas Without Holly (A Seasonal Rom Com)

SUMMARY:  
Christmas is a time for pampering yourself. At least, that is what Holly Nightingale thinks. A hard-working nurse, she has given herself an early Christmas gift - three days at Willows, a posh health farm in Surrey. She's looking forward to day after day of skin treatments, dips in the hot tub, and relaxing sessions with the handsome masseurs.
But not everything is perfect. Her fiancé Clive is working in Hong Kong.
But why does he spend so much time in the Far East? What is he up to?
As Holly sits by the spa with the pampered, unfaithful wives of the Home Counties, she starts to wonder what kind of married life she is about to embark on. And maybe Clive will end up spending Christmas without Holly? 'Christmas Without Holly' is a sparkling seasonal romantic comedy - a warm, moving tale, that manages to be funny, while also reminding the reader that Christmas is a time to reflect on life and where it is going. It is perfect for fans of Jane Green, Sophie Kinsella...and spa treatments. Nicola Yeager was born in Lincoln to Dutch parents and is married with two children. She currently lives in London and Amsterdam. Christmas Without Holly is her first novella.

REVIEW:
This story reminded me a lot of Bridget Jones. A single girl trying to figure out who she is and who she wants to give herself to, Holly has had terrible luck with men until she meets Clive, a successful business man. He seems to be her knight in shining armor until time at the spa causes her to stop and analyze her relationship and life.

I liked the story. It was cute. Christmas was not the center of the story. It loomed in the background waiting for its time to appear. What was center stage was Holly's thoughts of herself, those at the spa and her thoughts on Clive and their pending marriage. I liked how Holly's story evolved and unfolded. It was well timed and executed. A tip of the hat to Yeager for this well told Christmas love story.

https://twitter.com/NicolaYeager

And feel free to share this post via your social network of choice. Let's help these authors get the word out to other readers.